Asset versioning allows you to replace an existing file while still maintaining a historical record of previous versions. Historical versions can be re-activated to replace a newer version. During the versioning process, assets can be checked out so that other users are prohibited from making changes.

Checking out an asset

  1. Navigate to the desired asset's detail page
  2. Click the actions menu  button and select Check-out current version.
  3. The file will download to your local computer.

Once an asset has been checked out, the following will occur automatically:

  • A flag will appear at the foot of your asset's detail page, indicating the asset has been checked out and the user who checked out the asset.
  • A checked-out icon will appear at the top-right of your asset's thumbnail both in its detail page as well as gallery contexts.

Prohibited actions

Anything that potentially alters the original file or a derivative that represents it is prohibited during checkout. The following tasks cannot be performed on an asset if it is checked out:

  • Download
  • Create PDF
  • Repurpose
  • Resync
  • Add custom thumbnail
  • Delete thumbnail
  • Embed attributes
  • Archive to Glacier

Canceling a checkout

Checkouts can be canceled by the user who checked out the asset, or any user with a level of Administrator and above. 

  1. Navigate to the desired asset's detail page.
  2. Hover over the pill flag at the foot of your window. It will be marked with your site's brand colors, and will indicate the checked-out status of the asset as well as the person who originally performed the check-out. 
  3. The pill flag will turn red and will gain a Cancel x button; click the tag to cancel the checkout. 
  4. A dialogue will appear confirming that you would like to cancel the checkout; click Yes

Checking in an asset

Checking in an asset will completely replace the current version file, while maintaining a record of any previous versions. You can check in a new version on an asset that has not been checked out, but only the original user or an administrator can check in an asset that's been checked out.

If an asset is identical to the original asset file, no versioning will take place and checking in the asset will cancel the original checkout action. 

  1. Navigate to the desired asset's detail page
  2. Click the actions menu button and select Check in new version.
  3. Add a new file either by clicking Select file in the middle of the window, or dragging the desired file to the window from your local storage location.
  4. Add check-in notes. This step is optional.
  5. Click Check in.

Once you've completed the check-in process, the file will be updated including its name and thumbnail. If this is the first time a particular asset has been versioned, the Versions tab will now appear in the sidebar of its detail page.


Versions tab

The Versions tab lists all asset versions in reverse chronological order. Each item displays the version's original thumbnail, the date the file was versioned, the user who versioned the file, and any notes entered during the check-in action. You can perform certain actions on a previous version:

Reactivate 

The Reactivate  button reactivates a previous version of the asset. This will promote that version of the asset to the current version while keeping a record of the version you are replacing. Note that reactivating a previous version of an asset which is identical to the current version will fail.

Delete 

The Delete  button deletes a previous version of an asset. To confirm the deletion, select Delete from the subsequent dialogue. 

Download

The Download button downloads a previous asset version. Note that this action only allows you to download the original asset file and no other download options will be presented. 

Advanced settings

By default, all version data is retained unless explicitly deleted. The following properties will limit the versions stored:

Versions do not count against any asset limits indicated in a licensing agreement with NetX. However, they do count toward SaaS storage.

PropertyValuesDescriptionRequires restart?
image.versioningNumberThreshold
NumberThis property creates a limit to the number of versions associated with all assets. The value of this property will be the maximum number of versions which may exist at one time for any given asset; beyond that number, the oldest version of the asset will be deleted.No
image.versioningMonthThreshold
NumberThis property creates a limit to the age of versions associated with all assets. Anything older than this property's value will be deleted. The value of this property will equate to the number of months a version has existed in the system.No