Collections are a user-curated set of assets which can be saved for later use or shared to internal or external recipients. Assets may be collected across multiple folders or contexts.

Collecting assets

Creating a collection

  1. Select assets, then click Collect when the selection bar appears.
  2. A side panel will appear. In the Collection name field, enter the name of your new collection.
  3. Your collection will now appear in the lefthand collections sidebar as a  favorited  collection.

Adding to a collection

  1. Select assets, then click Collect when the selection bar appears.
  2. On the Collections pane, there are two tabs: Browse and Selected. Check the collections you want to add your selection to. You may remove a collection by un-checking its option from the Browse tab or the x icon in the Selected tab.
  3. Once you have chosen all relevant collections, hit Save.

Removing assets from a collection

To remove an asset from a collection, right-click on an asset and click Remove from collection on the context menu. You can remove a selection of multiple assets using the same process.

Viewing collections

Collections may be accessed via the collection icon () in the navigational sidebar. The sidebar itself shows only favorited collections, select View all to see all collections your user has access to. From here you may manage your collections including  favoriting , sharing, and deleting (depending on your user role ). Collections may be viewed as a card gallery or in a list. Selecting a collection will load its assets into the  asset gallery.

Favoriting collections

Only favorited collections will appear in the collections sidebar. Collections you create will be favorited automatically, while collections which have been  shared  with you will need to be manually favorited. To do so, either use the use View all collections from the foot of the sidebar or theicon which accompanies each collection in the sidebar and toggle your favorites with the  icon.

Sharing collections

Collections may be shared with other NetX users via custom roles that allow you to control which actions may be performed by these users. Assets may be shared externally via  share links .

Roles

When sharing a collection, you can assign participant roles that grant certain privileges to the collection object itself. These roles are not related to user levels and are subject to standard asset  permissions  — even if a user is given a participant role (such as manager), they will not be able to view assets they have not been granted permission to access.

  • Viewers: Viewers can view the collection in question, but cannot add or remove assets or edit the collection in any way. Editing participants and their roles is also disabled.
  • Contributors: Contributors can add and remove assets in the collection, in addition to viewing its contents. They cannot edit participants and their roles, edit the collection name, or delete the collection.
  • Managers: Managers can view, add, and remove assets. Managers can edit the participants and their roles, edit the collection's name, or delete it from the system. When you create a collection you will automatically be assigned a manager role. Note that the last user with a role of manager cannot be deleted or altered. 

Sharing with a team

To share internally, initiate a share with team action on a collection you have manager-level access to.

  1. To share, right-click on a collection tile or sidebar item, from a collection header dropdown, or the  icon on a collection tile. 
  2. When prompted, click Share with team.
  3. Use the drop-downs and input box to assign a role, select your principal (user, group, or all users), as well as the target user or group. Each addition will take place immediately without the need to save from the modal.
  4. Every role may be edited once it has been assigned with the Participant column dropdown, or deleted with the menu icon.
  5. Once you are finished, select Done. Note that permissions are cumulative; if a user is given multiple roles – either explicitly or as a group or all users – the most permissive role will take precedence.

Users will be automatically emailed about their new shared collection, however you may also check Share message to participants. This will allow you to include a custom message to new users to the collection.

Collection actions

There are some actions which can be performed on a collection as a whole; these are accessible via the actions menu to the left of the collection name in the gallery. Note that the actions available to your user will be dependent on your  user level  and  role  assigned for that collection. 

  • Add all to selection: Begins a  selection  using the contents of your gallery.
  • Download: Downloads the contents of the collection. Any user role may perform this action as long as their user level has the ability to download assets. 
  • Create PDF Creates a PDF  of all the assets in the collection. Any user role may perform this action.
  • Share: Allows you to share the collection with  other NetX users  or create a  share link  to the collection. Any user role may create a share link, but only managers are able to internally share the collection.
  • Review: Begin or add the current collection to a  review . All users regardless of role will be able to perform this action.
  • Rename collection: Renames the collection. Note that this changes the collection's name for all users who can see this collection. This action applies only to users with the  manager role. 
  • Duplicate collection: Creates a copy of the current collection. Any user role may perform this action. 
  • Delete collection: Deletes the collection. This action will only be available to managers.